Skip to main content Accessibility information

The South West Doctoral Training Partnership (SWDTP)

The South West Doctoral Training Partnership consists of 8 South-West universities: Bristol, Exter, Bath, UWE, Plymouth, Bath Spa, Bournemouth and Marjon.

PHD Mature Student group

The partnership has been accredited by the Economic and Social Sciences Research Council (ESRC) and will reward around 170 ESRC scholarships over five years, as well as supporting training in advanced quantitative and qualitative research methods and wider skills. These studentships fund Social Science researchers at all eight partner universities through their PhD research, including funding placements, fieldwork and overseas institutional visits.

The SWDTP focuses on collaboration between the universities, which includes sharing best practice, resources and academic knowledge. As well as developing tailored training programmes for our students and staff, the Partnership also supports a wide variety of collaborative activities, including events and student placements, in public, private and civic society organisations.

Who funds the SWDTP?

The SWDTP is funded by the ESRC, which is part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)– an organisation comprised of the seven UK research councilsInnovate UK and Research England. As the biggest investor in Social Science Research in the UK, the ESRC supports “independent, high quality research which has an impact on business, the public sector and civil society”.

The South West Doctoral Training Partnership is committed to:

  • Promoting excellent, innovative, diverse and interdisciplinary research
  • Enhancing and extending excellent research environments
  • Fostering transferable research skills and career development of researchers
  • Facilitating academic and non-academic collaboration and impact